I am officially on summer break! (Well it officially started after my Intermediate Ballet Exam on the 26th in  London, but still, it’s summer.) As this should hopefully post I will be exploring and relaxing in the gorgeous Amalfi Coast in Italy, chasing the sun and taking way too many photos on my phone and camera. I’ve never been to Italy, but I’m hoping my 4 years of Italian lessons in primary school and a few blasts on Duolingo will have me covered for 2 weeks.

Summer is a bit of a crazy time. It’s the longest chunk of time that you get off in the year until you eventually enter the world of work. Going into this summer I’m feeling very nostalgic over summers past. Most of my childhood was spent in my grandparent’s house in Brittany (France), as we got older we travelled around France and Belgium but tended to opt for holidays later in the year, so summer holidays became less of a “thing”. Two years ago I spent 6 weeks in Uganda with my family, since then I’ve been to Malta but that’s pretty much it – so I am very excited for what may be my last family holiday!

But that’s not the main focus of this post. Typically summer is a super exciting time, and in a more lifestyle-y blog fashion, I wanted to give a run down of how I will be spending the next 8 weeks to anyone who is interested.



Like I said, I started my first week of summer with a ballet exam, woo exciting! I’ve studied RAD ballet since I was 3 years old, so it always fills my heart when I have to travel to London to the RAD headquarters to take a vocational exam. Very intimidating, but it was a sunny day in London and as far as exams go, I had a good day.

img_4686
Later in the week, I travelled to Bristol to go to dinner in the house I’ll be living in from September. I’m sure I’ll go into this another time, but I am falling more and more in love with Bristol and really looking forward to spending the next season of my life there. Then on Friday… I went blonde! I was naturally very blonde as a child so I feel like I’ve just gone back a few years. There are some photos – but I’m definitely still getting used to it. Finally, on Saturday I had my Summer Ball/Valedictory Dinner, it wasn’t the greatest but it was lovely to spend the night with friends to celebrate (I slept all of Sunday afternoon after church, having got in at 4:30 am)


Now here are my plans!

  • I spend 2 weeks in Italy exploring Pompei and Naples and the coast from the 8th.
  • As soon as I get home I will be jumping back into action and heading up a Holiday Club at my church, hopefully the two weeks of relaxation will boost my energy going into the week.
  • Once that is done I drive to Shepton Mallet for one of my favourite weeks of the year – New Wine. I will be serving on team like I have done in previous years, it’s the most amazing opportunity to connect with God and see him working in kids as well as your own life.
  • Then I’m home and I have 4 weeks until I leave. The plan is to find some kind of work and prep for September, I don’t have many plans but we’ll see what happens.

That’s pretty much it!

Ciao from Italy x

Leave a Reply

